Teachers awarded for hard work


The Northern Cape Department of Education awarded its hard working teachers during the recent prestigious 18th Provincial Teachers Awards held at the Flamingo Casino outside Kimberley.


Teachers had to battle it out through different categories, tough adjudication processes were used to identify the eight (8) winners who will represent the province in the national level in February 2017, the date and venue for the national competition is yet to be confirmed.


ZF Mgcawu district teachers dominated the show,  they scooped 6 out of 8 awards; some of the categories they won includes   Excellence in Mathematics Teaching, Excellence in Physical Science Teaching and Excellence in Primary School Leadership.


Speaking at the awards MEC for Education Martha Bartlett said: “Through the Northern Cape Provincial Teaching Awards, we are actualising the National Teaching Awards’ aims and objectives which are to, recognise and promote excellence in teaching performance so that our teachers feel valued by the system”.


In addition she said the awards also intend to honour dedicated, creative and effective teachers and schools which will encourage teachers to go beyond the call of duty.


For the past years the province has performed fairly well in the national level in exception for this year’s awards.


Listed below are the winners:





Anelisa Herman Dyonase

Ratang Thuto H/S

ZF Mgcawu

Excellence in Mathematics Teaching

Wanda Rossouw

Duineveld H/S


Excellence in Teaching Physical Science

Team: Ann Isaks; Roseline Clarke; Joey Jahnig; Antoinette Fourie

Jannie Brink Special School

Francis Baard

Excellence in Special Needs Teaching

Dawid Van Der Westhuizen

Brandboom Int/S

ZF Mgcawu

Lifetime Achievement Award

Willem Kotze

Upington H/S

ZF Mgcawu

Excellence in Secondary School Leadership

Theresa Raman

Fraserburg H/S


Excellence in Secondary School Teaching

Patricia Du Preez

Lime Acres P/S

ZF Mgcawu

Excellence in Primary School Teaching

Wallace Willemse

Soverby P/S

ZF Mgcawu

Excellence Primary School Leadership


End copy.