Learner Admissions


As stipulated in the South African Schools Act of 1996, all children between the ages of 7 and 15 are compelled to attend school.  Parents and guardians should ensure that all learners of this age are registered to go to school and that their children attend school regularly. 


It is the responsibility of every parent and guardian to ensure that their children are registered for the following year, well before the end of the current school year.  Parents may register children who are supposed to start school next year, near their home or workplace. It is however important to check the registration deadlines of individual provinces.


Online Learner Admissions Website


Provincial and District Admissions Contact Details


Provincial Office                                  Ms  Z  Toffar                                 Tel: 053 839 6803/ 09


Frances Baard District Office              Mr  T Daniels                                Tel: 053 830 1644/ 45/ 47


John Taolo Gaetsewe                         Mr D Disang                                Tel: 053 773 9626


Namakwa District Office                     Mr T Cardinal                                 Tel 027 718 8735


Pixley ka Seme                                  Ms L Mdekazi                                Tel: 053 632 9286


ZF Mgcawu District Office                 Mr D.L de Wee                              Tel 054 337 6422


DBE Circular 01 of 2020 - Admission of learners to public schools

Circular 16 of 2023 - Management of Learner Admissions 

Circular 09 of 2020 - Admission policy for special schools and full service schools


Learner Admissions Excel Forms 2024 (NCK-A1 NCK-A2 NCK A3) 


Step by Step guideline for online application

Frequently Asked Questions



Walk in centres

Walk in centre: JTG District

Walk  in centre: Frances Baard District

Walk in centre: Namakwa District 

Walk in centre : Pixley ka  Seme District

Walk  in centre: ZFM District


Call centre 

The Department has established an admission call centre that will help parents with ant query pertaining the 2022/23 learner admissions. This is not a walk-in center but a call center. The following telephone numbers can be to reach the call center.


053 874 7012/64

053 874 7161/89

053 874 7239/92



general enquiries: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

appeals: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.